lifestyles of the rich and the famous

This post is so everyone can appreciate my new celebrity status in Verdun. Everywhere I go I am constantly chased by paprazzi, stares, whispers – “c’est l’américaine!!”. People leave glitter, candy, and flowers by my doorstep. I was recognized by the eveque of Verdun (bishop of Verdun) in a formal ceremony, and next week there will be a statue created in my exact likeliness. This weekend private cars will take me to meet Sarkozy, and there has been talk of reinstating the monarchy so I can become France’s next queen. I’m kind of a big deal.

 

You don’t believe me? Ask my students, who I can honestly say think I am the hottest thing since sliced baguette. I live in centre ville? C’est cool, ca. I drink skim milk? C’est top. (note usage of English to be trendy and impressive).

 

I have assembled a list of questions that my students have asked me during the past few weeks, which will give you a small idea of my popularity.

 

–          Do you have palm trees in your backyard?

–          Why do you speak French so well? (hysterical, roaring, nearly uncontrollable laughter followed from me)

–          Are you a real American??

–          Do you have any children?

–          Do you have Facebook?

–          Do you have a boyfriend?

–          Did you walk to France? Do you walk back and forth from Philadelphia to Verdun every night?

–          How do you say “je t’aime” in English? Me: I love you. (awkward pause). I love you Ms. Brenna!

–          Do you live in Miami bitch? (intention: Miami beach)

–          Do you like fast food?

–          How are you going to teach us English if you speak American?

 

This lifestyle can be tiring, so be sure to send warm wishes and chocolates to me at fabuleuxdestinbrenna@gmail.com or by leaving a comment!

About fabuleuxdestinbrenna

A Philly girl, attempting to fit into society in rural France. Vive la champange!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lifestyles of the rich and the famous

  1. Peach says:

    they are adorable! do you live in miami bitch? haha! i need to meet these children. i wish philadelphia was walking distance 🙂

  2. i just found your blog and having a great time scrolling through your posts! France is definitely on my bucket list (along with most of Europe, of course.) you’ll have to offer some suggestions on good French wine, i’ll exchange you for Australian 🙂

    p.s. those kids sound adorable!

    • Thanks, Angela! Yes, I love wine, and it is cheaper than water here. I am living close to champagne now, so I’m trying to learn more about that as well! Thanks for reading 🙂 🙂 And i’d love to share recs, anytime!

Leave a Reply

