epic kitchen fails

I had many culinary trials this week. Because I do not work forty hours a week (in fact I work much less than that! mwaha), I am able to spend more time than usual cooking. I am loving it! However, I have made some horrible mistakes in la cuisine. Most tragic was spicy chili, which ended up being very spicy and very dry (I am attributing this to a lack of canned beans and canned chilis in France, which led to an awful experience at the supermarket, entailing me mimicking post-spicy-chili consumation…le sigh).

Even though I had epic kitchen fails, C did not. He whipped up some delicious borscht, and also apples baked in Calvados (apple liquor) with buttered cabbage and white sausage. Yummm! Nothing could get us down. Even when our light went out in the kitchen, C and I still managed to eat by romantic candlelight*. You should try it! We ate for hours, dunking our baguettes into our steamy soup. Of course, we finished with our newest love, Chaource. A cheese from Troyes, it has stolen our  hearts with delicate and creamy deliciousness. At least we know where our priorities lie…

*I realize this seems like we’re dating. We’re not. We’re just two roomates who share a love for food, french, and witty banter.

About fabuleuxdestinbrenna

A Philly girl, attempting to fit into society in rural France. Vive la champange!
This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

